Exactly As I Am: Daily Prompt

You’ve imbibed a special potion that makes you immortal. Now that you’ve got forever, what changes will you make in your life? How will you live life differently, knowing you’ll always be around to be accountable for your actions?

 

These questions triggered an epiphany: If I were going to live forever, beginning today, I would not change one single solitary thing.

If I live forever or only for another week, I stand by my decisions, confident that I made (most of) them with integrity. I do my best at (pretty much) everything, no matter when, where or what. Furthermore, my intentions are (almost entirely) pure. I want to help people, I am driven by an insane passion to help people and to make the world a better, healthier place.

I even considered my family. Though they presumably wouldn’t live forever, my aim would be to make them as comfortable as possible, and I believe the best way to do that is to just keep pursuing my passions. I think an immortal life would be quite sad and bleak at times, as all the people you ever cared for died and faded away. However, an immortal consciousness would also attain an incredible amount of knowledge, experience, compassion and wisdom which could be put to infinitely good use.

 I think that, as medical science and technology advance, the human lifespan will extend well beyond 100 years, and maybe even longer (consider this short story by Isaac Asimov, The Last Question). It is an enormous relief and comfort to know that I am living today the way I would if I were going to live forever. I don’t presume to be perfect, but I feel that, just for today, just for right now, I’m doing the best I can (and that’s pretty damn good).

2 thoughts on “Exactly As I Am: Daily Prompt

  1. Pingback: No Longer a Mere Mortal: Almost Immortal – Bhishma’s Tale | Khana's Web

Tell It Like It Is

